books reviews

Fall Reads

6:26 PM

Some great fall book suggestions for you! 

Cause as most of you all know, I am a huge book nerd. And love sharing my latest and greatest reading finds.
Beautiful Redemption
 by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Now as I type this, this book isn't even out yet. It comes out the 23rd. of this month. It is the thrilling conclusion to "The Caster Chronicles" that I raved about at the beginning of the summer and said you should defiantly read. If you haven't, you should, the movie comes out next year and you should be prepared for the awesomeness that is "The Caster Chronicles".
I am so excited for this book to be released. I know I'll probably cry my eyes out, but it will be worth it.


The Rise of Nine
by Pittacus Lore
I am a HUGE fan of Pittacus Lore. He's just...great. So great, it has only taken me about 2 days to finish his past 2 books in the "Lorien Legacy's". And of course, he did not disappoint in The Rise of Nine. "I am number 4" will always be my favorite but "The Rise of Nine" is a VERY close second. VERY close. The characters and the situations in this book kept me reading for hours every night. READ IT.

Starters 
By Lissa Price  
FOR FANS OF THE HOST, UGLIES AND DELIRIUM. This book is a perfect futuristic quick read for you fall :) The whole idea of the story is just interesting in and of itself. A great read for sure!

Have you found any great books reads this fall??? I'd love to hear them!! 
You can always see what I'm reading on my goodreads page here. 



gluten free

R4U - GF CupCakes

8:20 PM

Photobucket

Now I can only take 98% credit for this recipe. The recipe itself is my moms, I only made it into cupcake form and went to the store and bought icing ;)

Gluten/Flour Free Cupcakes 

  • 1 1/cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 (19 ounce) can organic garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup organic sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla
  • Confectioners sugar for dusting (optional)
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a cupcake pan.
Place the chocolate chips into a microwave-safe bowl. Cook in the microwave for about 2 minutes, stirring every 20 seconds after the first minute, until chocolate is melted and smooth.
Combine the beans and eggs in the bowl of a food processor. Process until smooth. Add the sugar and the baking powder, and pulse to blend. Pour in the melted chocolate and blend until smooth, scraping down the corners to make sure chocolate is completely mixed. Transfer the batter to the prepared cake pan.
Bake for 40 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a knife inserted into the center of the cupcakes comes out clean. 


These are so good!! I am actually about to have one of the leftovers.. now ;) 
Thanks momma for the recipe

best friend

Where have I been!?

3:15 PM

Photobucket
Well to be honest. Nowhere. lol. I got back from my mini vaca with the bestie and I was thrown right back into life and have been too busy to sit down and blog.
THAT and Jeska had all the pictures so I had to wait to blog till i got them the other day ;)

So last Thursday the bestie, Jeska, and I headed down to Mickey's House for a little Halloween vacation! We saved up for a month or so and got ourselves tickets and a room for Mickey's Halloween party.

Of course we stopped for lunch and some retail therapy on the way down, if I'm going to O'Town I am going to make sure I either stop at Ikea OR Forever 21, we stopped at both of course...and chick fil a ;)
Photobucket
Photobucket

Anywhozels we check into our room around mid afternoon and we were greeted by this lovely fellow. His name is George. Isn't he cute!?
Photobucket

We got ready, had some dinner, than headed over to the park.
Photobucket
Photobucket
OH and I was Rapunzel btw if you didn't notice. I was "Post-blond hair" Rapunzel"
(and the dress is from my 50's party last year. Yay for reusing dress's ;))

Sadly, as we arrived it started to look glumly.
Photobucket
Photobucket

So, we did what normal Floridians do, we ignored the weather and went on our way nevertheless.
Photobucket

 We hoped on Pirates of the Caribbean, excited for the night ahead.
Then we got off the ride.
And we were trapped.
Stupid florida weather!
Rain. By the bucket loads. 
So we waited
And waited
And waited.

After a half an hour the rain slowed down but chose not to stop.
SO we conformed to the man... or mouse in this situation,
and bought ponchos and headed out to another ride.
 Poring rain and all.
The bottom of my dress was wet from where the poncho didn't cover and Jeska had water in her new shoes. However, we still laughed, rode rides (that were inside of course) and enjoyed ourselves.
Photobucket

That's the thing about being a Floridian. You learn to deal with the weather. It just happens and you have to learn to go with the flow. No matter what.


Even Pascal made it through the night!
Photobucket


Last Thursday was defiantly full of memories.  
I made a little video below if you'd like to see.


OH and.. hehehe. Me being my typical self... well.. just watch..

Yea. Clutzy me. I don't even know how I did it. All i know is I got off Pirates and my foot started to hurt.
 I ended up pulling/spraining severely a tendon that runs along the side of my foot. It's been a week and I'm still healing. Dr. said if its not better by next week we need to get X-Rays done. :o
Lets hope it heals!
Photobucket


Stay tuned for my next post where I gush on the amazingness that is Babycakes! 

gluten free

R4U - Mini GF Cake

12:00 AM

So the title of this blog post was going to be, RFU, but then looking at it I realized it didn't look right...lol. So R4U or in other words a 


RECIPE 4 YOU! 

I took the typical mug cake recipe that every girl see on pinterest and made my own GLUTEN FREE version of it!
 It's perfect for those nights when you are just craving something sweet :)


It's an amazing for me cause i have this sad little obsession with mugs so I will ALWAYS have one to make a mini cake in ;) 


Samantha's GF Mini Mug Cake

2 Tablespoons of GF Flour blend
A pinch of Xanthan gum
2 Tablespoons of Sugar (I use a organic sugar but just white sugar will do too) 
1/8 teaspoon of baking powder
A SMALL egg. (if you don't have a small one just use half of the egg yoke) 
1 1/2 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter
1 1/2 Tablespoons of Milk (or Soy/Almond milk works just as well) 
1 1/2 Tablespoons of Vegetable Oil

Combine everything in a mug, whisk it together, and place in the microwave for about a 1 1/2minute to 2 minutes
OR
 until it is light a fluffy.
If you want to make a bigger mug cake and split it with someone just double all the ingredients and it should fill an entire mug.

Gluten Free Mini Cake in a Cup

Disney

I'm Ready

2:51 PM

I'm ready for...
Thursday.
My mini vacation.
Introducing my friend to the world of Ikea.
Checking into our hotel.
Hanging and being goofy in the hotel room.
Getting ready for the night.
Partying it up with M I C K E Y M O U S E! 
Lots of laughs 

I'm ready.
Here's hoping the next 48 hours go by fast!

Oh and hear is a hint to who I am dressing up as for Mickey's party. 
Can you guess?? 

gluten free

Recipe for You

12:00 AM

Quinoa Pizza Bites: 

Photobucket


Ingredients
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 large eggs
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped (or 2 tablespoons dried)
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, diced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Pizza sauce for dipping
Directions
  1. Place the quinoa and two cups of water in a covered pot. Bring to boil and then simmer for 20 minutes or until quinoa is tender.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Mix together all ingredients, except pizza sauce, in a medium mixing bowl.
  4. Distribute mixture into a greased mini muffin tin, filling each cup to the top (one heaping tablespoon each), and press down gently to compact.
  5. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pan. Serve warm with sauce for dipping.
Makes 24 mini muffin bites.


So good and so easy once you have all the ingredients :D